top of page

Results and Tables - Wightlink Isle of Wight Chess Congress 2024

And that's a wrap. We still have a bunch of videos and pictures to share but it's time for the final results. Thank you all so much for coming to join us on the Isle of Wight, and thank you to local players for all your support.

The event would not have been possible without the support of Wightlink Ferries and we cannot thank them, and especially David Williams, enough for their backing.

Here's David from Wightlink making the opening move on board # 1, Round 1 on Friday:

Thank you to all the staff too, Shohreh Bayat, Iwan Cave and Terry Dawson. Your hard work made for an excellent tournament and you worked tirelessly without much break. Not only did we have a fully live open but all Game PGNs from the Championship are now also available on Chess Results.

A special mention to our equipment partner DGT who went above and beyond to support the tournament and made it a great experience for players. We can't wait to see what the next few years will bring for the IOW tournament.

We saw a fantastic level of chess in all sections. 7 titled players battling it out in The Open, while many people enjoyed their first Congress experience in the Challenger section. We hope to see you all again next year.

The Open - Winner, IM Harry Grieve

Best Under 16 player - Sponsored by Isle Wight College - Vinuda Gunatilake

The Championship - Winner, Clive Bowley

Best Under 16 player - Sponsored by Isle Wight College - Theo Horne

The Challenger, Winner, Gregory Kornilovich

Best Under 16 player - Sponsored by Isle Wight College - Gregory Kornilovich

Additional Prizes based on rating performance:

Island Echo, Best Isle of Wight player - Clive Bowley

(There is a great shot of the Trophy somewhere?!)

Wightlink Ferries, Best Isle of Wight Player over 65

- Michael Gidley

Wightlink Ferries, Best Women's Player

- Natasha Regan

Thank you all so much for coming, we will be sharing more video and game recaps on Instagram and Twitter in the coming days. Please subscribe to the mailing list to be the first to know about the next tournament.